Australian Mathematical Olympiad Committee

The Australian Mathematical Olympiad Committee (AMOC), which coordinates Australia’s entry in the International Mathematical Olympiad, was formed in May 1980 following work by an interim committee which had been formed at the beginning of 1979. The AMOC was a sub-committee of the Australian Academy of Science before the formation of the Australian Mathematics Trust in 1992.

The range of activities of the AMOC has diversified considerably beyond involvement with the IMO. The number of activities fall under two groupings:


Membership of AMOC includes:

Professor Cheryl Praeger AM FAA


Associate Professor David Hunt

Deputy Chair

Dr Philip Swedosh

Treasurer and AMOC State Director, VIC

Adjunct Professor Mike Clapper

Executive Director, Australian Mathematics Trust

Dr Kumudini Dharmadasa

AMOC State Director, TAS

Dr Angelo di Pasquale

AMOC Director of Training and International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) Team Leader

Mr Norman Do

Chair, AMOC Senior Problems Committee

Mr Andrew Elvey Price

International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) Deputy Team Leader

Dr Greg Gamble

AMOC State Director, WA

Dr Kevin McAvaney

Chair, Mathematics Challenge for Young Australians (MCYA) committee

Ms Janine McIntosh

Challenge representative

Mr David Martin

AMOC State Director, SA

Ms Anna Nakos

Challenge representative

Professor Mike Newman

Challenge representative

Dr Alan Offer

AMOC State Director, QLD

Dr Bill Palmer

AMOC State Director, NSW

Mr Howard Reeves

AMF representative

Dr Ian Roberts

AMOC State Director, NT

Dr Chris Wetherell

AMOC State Director, ACT

Dr Oleksiy Yevdokimov

Editorial consultant