You're currently on the Archived AMT website. Please click through to the new site.

[AMC Trade Mark]

The 1979 AMC

The second AMC, sponsored by the Bank of New South Wales, later Westpac Banking Corporation, attracted over 102,000 students.

A total of 16 medals were identified, and these were presented at a function at the Canberra College of Advanced Education (later the University of Canberra) by Sir McFarlane Burnett.

The medallists were:

AMC Medallists from the Junior, Intermediate & Senior Divisions
FISHER Nicholas Watson High School ACT 8
HARTWIG Darryl Concordia College QLD 8
VERTIGAN Dirk New Town Boys High School TAS 8
FARMER James Waratah High School NSW 10
GADD Roger Linwood High School NZ 10
HOLLOWAY Daniel New Town Boys High School TAS 10
KNEEBONE Russell Wangaratta High School VIC 10
WEN Ai Soong Casuarina High School NT 10
WILSON Richard The King's School NSW 10
ANDERSON Malcolm Canberra Grammar School ACT 12
CHANTLER Christopher Hollywood Senior High School WA 12
GARSON Derek Unley High School SA 12
HOWES Tony Brisbane Grammar School QLD 12
MANN Gregory Wesley College VIC 12
MORLEY David Melbourne Church of England Grammar School VIC 11
ROBINSON Peter Asquith Boys High School NSW 12

(no perfect scores)

David Morley was to obtain medals also in 1978 and 1980 and a perfect score in 1980. A brief regime on his later career can be found on the 1980 page.