You're currently on the Archived AMT website. Please click through to the new site.

[AMC Trade Mark]

The 1999 AMC

The 1999 AMC was held on Tuesday 3 August.

Australian and New Zealand medallists were presented with their medals at a function at Government House, Brisbane, on Wednesday 3 November by the Governor of Queensland, Major General Peter Arnison AO.

Singapore medals were presented at a function in the Australian High Commission in Singapore by the High Commissioner, the Hon Murray McLean OAM, on Thursday 21 October.

Philippine medals were presented at a function on Wednesday 21 October at Manila Midtown Hotel by the Philippines Secretary of the Department of Science and Technology, Dr Filemon A Uriarte, Jr. He was assisted by Undersecretary Dr Rufino C Lirag, Jr and the Australian Embassy was represented by Charge d'Affaires, the Hon Nicholas Coppell.

Bulgarian Medals were presented at a ceremony at the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences on 7 December 1999 by the Australian Ambassador to Bulgaria, His Excellency Mr Ross Burns, accompanied by the Australian Honorary Consul in Sofia, Mrs Indiana Trifonova. This ceremony also saw the awarding of the 1998 medals.

AMC Medallists from the Junior, Intermediate & Senior Divisions
BROWN Aaron Northpine Christian College QLD 8
CHEN Fay Somerville House QLD 8
CHEONG Kah Kay Anglo-Chinese School (Independent) SIN 8
CHUA Timothy Xavier School PHI 8
COLEMAN Patrick St Peter's College SA 7
DANG Thurston Caringbah Selective High School NSW 7
DY Samuel St Stephen's High School PHI 8
GARTON Thomas Woodleigh School VIC 8
HARKNESS Matthew* St Andrew's Secondary School SIN 8
HITCHCOCK Steven Matamata College NZ 8
IYER Nithin Sydney Grammar School NSW 7
LAI Jensen Billanook College VIC 8
LIN Zongheng Wilson Raffles Institution SIN 8
LIANG Feng-Yuan St George Girls High School NSW 8
MARINOV Radoslav Varna Mathematical School BUL 7
NERECENA Carlo Philippine Science High School PHI 7
NG Angus Sydney Boys High School NSW 8
NG Jun Siang Raffles Institution SIN 8
OLESEN Esper Wauchope High School NSW 8
PINSON Matthew Cowra High School NSW 7
QIN Charles Sydney Boys High School NSW 8
SUTANTO David Trinity Grammar School VIC 8
Van ZETTEN Matthew St Patrick's College Launceston TAS 8
ZHAO Zi Qing Anglo-Chinese School (Independent) SIN 8
EDWARDS Phillip Hale School WA 10
KWOK Andrew University High School VIC 9
LI Zhen The Chinese High School SIN 10
LIN Zhixiang* River Valley High School SIN 9
McNAMARA Peter* Hale School WA 10
ROBERTS Benjamin Toowoomba Grammar School QLD 10
TAN Lit Hau James Ruse Agricultural High School NSW 10
THAI Duc Rostrevor College SA 10
WANG Ziqian* Raffles Institution SIN 9
WHITE Gareth Hurlstone Agricultural High School NSW 9
WU Jie Nanyang Girls High School SIN 9
YEOH Daniel Pembroke School SA 10
CHEESEMAN Andrew Mentone Grammar School VIC 12
ZHECHEV Dimiter Mathematical School of Gabrovo BUL 11
CHU Geoffrey* Scotch College VIC 11
FREIBERG Tristan* Boonah State High School QLD 12
HANDLEY Benjamin Logan Park High School, Dunedin NZ 12
LIM Yin* Victoria Junior College SIN 11
MORRISON Matthew Malanda State High School QLD 12
RAMCHEN Lev Melbourne Grammar School VIC 11
SUN Kevin* James Ruse Agricultural High School NSW 12
TAPLIN Joel Radford College ACT 12
WENG Wenrong Melville High School, Hamilton NZ 12
WILSON Julian Dubbo Distance Education Centre NSW 12
* denotes perfect score: BH Neumann certificate

During this year Geoffrey Chu won an IMO Gold Medal in Romania. He was one point behind the top score in the world. Peter McNamara was also in Romania, winning a Bronze Medal, and he went on to become Australia's first student to win two IMO Gold Medals.