You're currently on the Archived AMT website. Please click through to the new site.

Cheryl Praeger appointed to Executive of International Mathematics Committee

Cheryl Praeger

AMOC Chair Professor Cheryl Praeger AM has been elected to the Executive Committee of the International Mathematical Union. She is the first domiciled Australian to receive this honour.

Cheryl has been a member of the Board of the Australian Mathematics Trust since its inception, representing AMOC and the Australian Mathematical Society, of which she has been the only female President.

After attending school in Brisbane, Cheryl developed her interest in mathematics at the University of Queensland, where former AMOC Chair Anne Street and AMC Problems Committee member Sheila Williams were among her lecturers. She won numerous prizes and scholarships, including a University medal went on to complete a Doctorate at Oxford, and after some post-doctoral research in Australia and the US took up a Lectureship in Mathematics at the University of Western Australia in 1976.

She was promoted to Senior Lecturer in 1982 and after the retirement of Larry Blakers was appointed as a Professor, only the second female maths Professor (after Hannah Neumann) at the time to have been so appointed.

She also holds a Doctorate of Science at UWA and two Honorary Doctorates, one in Thailand and the other in Belgium, has written over 250 refereed papers and numerous other publications.

She was elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Sciences in 1996 and appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in 1999 for service to Mathematics in Australia.

(Posted 23 August 2006)


Copyright 2007 Australian Mathematics Trust, All Rights Reserved