You're currently on the Archived AMT website. Please click through to the new site.
  Australian Olympiad Teams 2013

Posted Monday 17 June 2013

The 2013 Australian Mathematics and Science Olympiad teams were officially announced and presented with their Australian team blazers at a special ceremony at Parliament House in Canberra on Monday 17 June. The Hon Peter Garrett AM MP, Minister for School Education, Early Childhood and Youth was Guest of Honour. There was also a very inspirational special address to the students by Professor Brian Schmidt AC.

The Mathematics and Informatics teams were selected by the Australian Mathematics Trust after training involving in some cases many years, starting with participation in events such as the Australian Mathematics Competition and Mathematics Challenge for Young Australians (for mathematics) and the Australian Informatics Competition and Australian Informatics Olympiad (for informatics).

The program's principal sponsor is the Australian Government through its Department of Industry, Innovation, Science, Research and Tertiary Education (DIISRTE) and the Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations (DEEWR), with additional support from professional societies, including the Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers and the Australian Mathematical Society.


The 2013 International Olympiad in Informatics (IOI) is being hosted by Australia, at the University of Queensland in Brisbane, from 6 to 13 September.

Australia’s team is:

Michael CHEN Year 10 Scotch College, VIC
Ishraq HUDA Year 10 James Ruse Agricultural High School, NSW
Ray LI Year 11 James Ruse Agricultural High School, NSW
James PAYOR Year 12 The Kings School, NSW

Team Leader is Jarrah Lacko and Deputy Leader is Luke Harrison, both from UNSW.

As Australia is the host nation of IOI 2013, we will be able to field a second (unofficial) team, as follows:

Adrian GOLDWASER Year 11 Melbourne High School, VIC
Joshua LAU Year 12 James Ruse Agricultural High School, NSW
Nicholas LAVER Year 12 Hunter Christian School, NSW
Austin TANKIANG Year 11 North Sydney Boys High School, NSW

Jarrah and Luke will be assisted by Robert Newey from UNSW and Ben Stott from RMIT respectively.

In picture from L to R – Michael Chen, Ishraq Huda, Minister Garrett, Ray Li, James Payor and Luke Harrison.


The 2013 International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) will be held in Santa Marta, Colombia, from 18 to 28 July.

Australia’s team is:

Alexander CHUA Year 12 Christ Church Grammar School, WA
Alex GUNNING Year 10 Glen Waverley Secondary College, VIC
Jason KWONG Year 12 Sydney Grammar School, NSW
Seyoon RAGAVAN Year  9 Knox Grammar School, NSW
Rachel WONG Year 12 James Ruse Agricultural High School, NSW
Jonathan ZHENG Year 12 James Ruse Agricultural High School, NSW


Damon ZHONG Year 11 Sydney Church of England Grammar School, NSW

Team Leader is Dr Angelo Di Pasquale from The University of Melbourne.

Deputy Leader is Ivan Guo from The University of Sydney.

In picture from L to R – Ivan Guo, Alexander Chua, Alex Gunning, Jason Kwong, Minister Garrett, Seyoon Ragavan, Rachel Wong, Johnathan Zheng and Angelo Di Pasquale.


Copyright 2007 Australian Mathematics Trust, All Rights Reserved