Maths Enrichment

Detailed information about the Maths Enrichment program

Maths Enrichment is a 12–16 week program held flexibly between April and October. It comprises seven parallel stages of comprehensive student and teacher support notes. Each student participates in one stage. These programs are designed for students in upper primary and lower to middle secondary school (years 4–10).

Each stage includes Student Notes designed to be a systematic structured course over the duration of the program, which students can keep for ongoing reference. The support of the Australian Government enables this program to be offered to Australian students at an entry fee lower than the cost of buying the notes independently. This enables schools to timetable the program to fit in with their school year.

The Enrichment stage is independent of the earlier Challenge stage; however, they have the common feature of providing challenging mathematics problems for students, as well as accessible support materials for teachers.

The stages are in order of difficulty with general year level recommendations: Ramanujan (years 4–5), Newton (years 5–6), Dirichlet (years 6–7), Euler (years 7–8), Gauss (years 8–9), Noether (very able students in years 9–10) and Polya (top 10% year 10). Ramanujan, Newton and Dirichlet have 8 problems, Euler and Gauss have 12 problems, and Noether and Polya have 16 problems.

Ramanujan (years 4–5)

Ramanujan includes includes fast arithmetic, special numbers (squares, triangular numbers, primes), counting techniques, polyominoes and other problem-solving techniques (updated for 2020).

Newton (years 5–6)

Newton includes estimation, polyhedra, divisibility, patterns (including Fibonacci numbers), colouring problems, base 5 arithmetic and other specific problem-solving techniques (updated for 2021).

Dirichlet (years 6–7)

Dirichlet includes mathematics concerned with patterns, tessellations, counting techniques, primes and composites, clock arithmetic and specific problem-solving techniques (updated for 2022).

Euler (years 7–8)

Euler includes primes and composites, least common multiples, highest common factors, arithmetic sequences, figurate numbers, congruence, properties of angles and pigeonhole principle.

Gauss (years 8–9)

Gauss includes parallels, similarity, Pythagoras’ theorem, using spreadsheets, Diophantine equations, counting techniques and congruence.

Noether (very able students in years 9–10)

Noether includes expansion and factorisation, inequalities, sequences and series, number bases, methods of proof, congruence, circles and tangents.

Pólya (top 10% year 10)

Polya has been completely revised and covers functions, symmetric polynomials, geometry, inequalities, functional equations, number theory, counting and graph theory.

Enrichment stage excerpts

Take a look at excerpts of the Maths Enrichment stages.

Register and learn more

You’ll find more information about Maths Enrichment (including how to register) on our Maths Enrichment program page.